top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnita Neal

Falls Prevention

This afternoon I’m not working with patients, instead I’m doing an assignment for the NVQ course I’m doing on Falls Prevention.

I decided to start this course in Lockdown because I’ve seen the devastating impact a fall can have on patients lives. I’ve seen too many patients go from having social active happy lives to being housebound and losing their independence because of a fall.

These are my top tips for preventing a fall.

• get your medication checked regularly, incorrect dosages and/or combinations of drugs can make you more prone to falling.

• make sure trip hazards are eliminated as much as possible, get rid of clutter, make sure carpets aren’t worn and loose, stop leaving things on the stairs to take up with you.

• have your eye sight tested regularly and make sure your home is well lit.

• keep active, losing muscle tone will make you more likely to fall.

• make sure footwear is not too big, I see so many patients wearing footwear that is too big and non supportive because ‘it’s easy to get on’. Invest in good shoes with Velcro fastenings which have a non-slip sole. This is particularly important when it comes to slippers, ideally have proper shoes which you wear just in the house instead.

• visit the podiatrist. If your feet hurt for any reason the chances are you will not walk properly, and you are more likely to trip as a result.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page